You cannot delete workspaces or projects. However, closing projects or workspaces can have the same effect since it locks
in those projects and reduces clutter from navigation and pickers.
Reasons for closing projects or workspaces:
- Project or workspace that was created by accident or never used
- Stale project or workspace
- Completed project that no longer needs to be in project pickers and navigation
Close unused workspaces or projects
Some basics of closing a project or workspace:
- You must be a workspace or
- When closing a workspace, all child projects must also be closed (this is a manual process).
- When closing a project, all child projects must also be closed.
- Reopening a child project requires all parent projects and workspaces to be open as well.
- Closing a project or workspace blocks all edits to work items or timeboxes except to change the project.
- Stories in closed projects will still have
Once a project or workspace has been closed, users will no longer be able to navigate to it. This means that users will no longer be able look at all work items and navigate to pages within those projects or workspaces. You will still be able to access work items in the project through search or with a direct link to the work item.
To close a project or workspace:
- Go to the Workspaces & Projects
of the system administration page.
- Select the item you want to close.
- Edit the workspace or project and set the
Once the workspace or project is closed, it will remain intact, but no longer displays in the drop-down list on the navigation bar or the project picker. Changes to workspaces are recorded in the revision history.
View Closed Projects and Workspaces
To view all projects (including closed projects) in the workspace:
- Go to the Workspaces & Projects tab of the system administration page.
- Change the State drop-down from Open to All.
- Click Filter at the top of the page.
Search in Closed Projects
You can still search for items in closed projects, but you will only see those results under the Closed Projects tab on the Search page. Make sure you have Search workspace selected since you will not be able to navigate to the closed project. Searching closed workspaces is not possible since you are unable to search other workspaces than the one you are in.
Click on the Closed Projects tab when searching to see work items in closed projects.
Editing Closed Projects
While you can still access items in closed projects using the Search page or Work Views, the only
that can be edited is the project. This is a way to archive items in closed projects by preventing users from editing them. Users will not be able to edit timeboxes for closed projects.