The creator of an organization is the default
of that organization. The owner has all the abilities of an administrator, as well as the ability to change an organization's name or delete it. The owner can transfer ownership to another administrator. Administrators can do the following:
- Promote other users to administrators from the Users
- Change organization-wide settings
- Change the organization's plan and payment details
- Enable an email domain
- Connect the organization with Google or CA Agile Central and other organization-related activities
- View a list of all flows in an organization
- Disable and delete flows
The contents of a flow will only be visible if the administrator is a member of that flow. Administrators do not have access to other users' 1-to-1 conversations. All users who are members of a flow can export that flow’s content from the organization’s Flows page.
Add users to an organization
When you add users to a flow, they are also added to the organization that the flow belongs to. All flow members can invite new users to a flow. If the invited user is already a member of the organization, they are added to the flow and the flow displays in their
. You can also invite people to a flow by enabling the flow's invitation link.
To change flow access settings from the Flow Members dialog, click the more options icon ( ⋮ ) next to the flow’s name to open it.
Organization administrators can disable non-administrator users' ability to invite new people to an organization. Administrators can alternatively invite the new users or connect the organization with Google Apps, CA Agile Central, an email domain, or a single sign-on provider and have the new users sign up using that signup method.
Join an organization automatically
Connect an organization to a Google Apps domain, a CA Agile Central
, a single sign-on provider, or an email domain. When a user's signup method matches a connected organization, they are added to that organization. If there are no matches, a new organization is created for the user.
By defining an email domain for your CA Flowdock organization, new users signing up with an email address matching that domain are added to your organization.
When an organization is connected with a Google Apps domain, if a user signs up for CA Flowdock using their Google account from the connected Google Apps domain, they are automatically added to the correct CA Flowdock organization. A Google Apps domain can be connected with only one CA Flowdock organization.
Note: If a Google Apps domain is connected with a CA Flowdock organization but no email domain is set up, a user that signs up using their email address (instead of their Google Apps account) will not be added to the correct organization. We recommend to connect both your Google Apps domain and set up an email domain.
Connecting a CA Agile Central subscription to a CA Flowdock organization works similarly to Google Apps domains. When a user signs up using their CA Agile Central credentials, if the CA Agile Central subscription is connected with a CA Flowdock organization, the user is added to that organization. Similarly, a CA Agile Central subscription can be connected with only one CA Flowdock organization.
If you want to connect your CA Agile Central subscription but don't want to let users join your CA Flowdock organization automatically, visit our community page for support. This can be useful in situations where you don't want to let all of your CA Agile Central users join your CA Flowdock organization.
Refer to our single sign-on administration guide for more information about SSO.
Administrators can remove users from an organization unless the user is the owner of the organization. Remove users from the organization's user list on the Account page. If a flow is invite-only, administrators can also remove users from a flow from the Flow Members dialog.
When a user is removed from an organization, they will lose access to that organization's flows. Because a user can belong to multiple organizations, removing a user from an organization will not delete their CA Flowdock user account. If your organization uses SSO for Flowdock, additional steps are necessary.
Manage multiple organizations
Organizations are a good way to control access to specific flows or users. For example, if you want to use CA Flowdock with clients but don't want to give them access to internal flows, you can create a new organization that includes your client's users.
In order to not get billed twice for users who are in both organizations, you can set your main (internal) CA Flowdock organization as the parent organization of the new client organization. A CA Flowdock organization can be the parent of multiple other organizations, but can only be the child of one organization. Users who belong to a parent organization and any child organizations will only be billed once.
To set up a parent-child relationship between organizations, you need to be the owner of both organizations. From the Admin page of the child organization, select the parent organization from the Link organizations section.
Organizations can only be deleted by the owner of the organization. To delete an organization, open the Admin page under the organization from your Account page. Deleting an organization is permanent and will delete all the flows in the organization and their data.