Report Blocked Work

The Blocked field in CA Agile Central provides an easy way for you to identify problems with current team work. Any time an issue outside your team's control prevents progress, you should mark the work item as blocked to notify team members and other stakeholders.

Blocked status may be applied to many CA Agile Central work items , including:

  • User stories
  • Defects
  • Defect suites
  • Tasks
  • Test sets
  • Portfolio Items

Blocked status can also roll-up to work items that are related to the work item. The following table details what relationships share blocks:

Item blocked Related items also blocked
Task
  • User story
  • Defect
  • Test set
Child user story
  • Parent user stories
Portfolio Item
  • No related work items are blocked.

Mark a Work Item or Portfolio Item as Blocked

You can block a work item or portfolio item from most views within CA Agile Central.  The process includes two steps: mark the item as blocked and provide a reason.

The Blocked status is most effective when the team is holding daily stand-up meetings. This is where team members can discuss why work was blocked.

If a block rolls-up to a related or parent item that you don't want to remain blocked, you can manually edit  the item to remove the block.

To block a work item:
  1. Block a work item or portfolio item the following ways:
    • While viewing the work item on a summary page , such as Iteration Status , select the icon in the Blocked column, turning it red.
    • In the editor window for the work item, and select the Blocked button.
    • To add a blocked status to a work item from a board view, such as the Team Board or Portfolio Kanban , hover over the work item card and select the block icon. You can also block a task from the card details display.
      Block a card
    • To add a blocked status to a work item from the backlog or a work view, such as the custom grid, select the icon in the Blocked column. You must have already configured the grid to display the Blocked column.
    • To add a blocked status to a work item on grids such as the user stories page, or the defects page, double-click the row where you want to enter the blocked reason, then select the icon in the Blocked column. Select the confirm icon to save the blocked reason.
      Blocked reason
  2. Provide a reason for blocking the item:
    • When you set a block on a card from a board view, the Blocked Reason field will display. You may begin typing in the field after selecting the block icon. When you unblock a card, the Blocked Reason field will automatically clear itself.
      Blocked card reason
    • To set a work item as blocked on the backlog page or a grid, select the blocked icon and enter a Blocked Reason in the pop-up when prompted.
      Custom grid blocked reason

View Blocked Work Items

When a work item is blocked, the Schedule State field is red on summary pages. You may use custom views on summary pages to show only blocked work items.

Block item

The Revisions page displays an entry when a block is placed. This will also reveal the date, time, and user that set the block.

You can use the Blocked Work app to get a quick view of any blocked work in your workspace .

Blocked work app

Feedback

Need more help? The CA Agile Central Community is your one-stop shop for self-service and support. To submit feedback or cases to CA Agile Central Support, find answers, and collaborate with others, please join us in the CA Agile Central Community.