merge moves all data from one subscription (the source subscription) into another subscription (the destination subscription). All workspaces from the source subscription are moved to the destination with their source subscription
CA Support will guide you through the subscription merge process. At a high level, here's what will happen:
- You contact your CA Agile Central Account Representative for the merge authorization, and complete any necessary paperwork. Learn more.
- CA Support will contact you to schedule a merge time and date.
- CA Support will perform the subscription merge and will contact you after the merge to confirm your subscription has been successfully migrated.
, CA Support will re-confirm with you that all your subscription administrators (and
base) are aware of planned downtime to perform the merge.
Subscription merges can take place on weekdays between 5 PM - 7 PM ET and typically require between two and three hours of downtime, which may vary depending upon amount of data being moved. Users will not have access to either the source or destination subscription during the merge time.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: How does a subscription merge work?
A: At a high level, we move (copy) all of the subscription data from the source subscription into the destination subscription. A simplified before and diagram looks like this:
Q: Is there any data not included in a subscription merge?
A: The only data that is not currently included in a merge is subscription-level custom fields (workspace-level custom fields are moved),
. CA Support can move Watches to the destination subscription after the merge, and subscription administrators can re-create Webhooks following the merge as needed.
Q: How many licenses do I need
a subscription merge?
A: The merge process takes into account the number of seats from each subscription and accounts for them in the merged destination. That is, total license count increases in the destination subscription to account for the source subscription seats as well. If you have a certain number of seats that you would like to retain following the merge, please let your account representative know. Note: All users will be moved during a merge, but some may need to be disabled by a subscription administrator if the desired seat count is lower than the active user count.
Q: What happens if the password policies between the source and destination subscriptions are different?
A: If the source subscription has weaker password policies than the destination subscription, the users from the source subscription are prompted at the time of login into the merged subscription to change their password due to the strength change. If the destination subscription has weaker password policies, then the new password prompt does not occur.
will the workspace administrators of the source subscription have after the merge?
A: Workspace administrators of the source subscription become workspace administrators of the destination subscription after the merge.
Q: What happens if the two subscriptions have duplicate workspace names?
A: Best practice is to update your workspace names to be unique prior to merging.
Q: Will my subscription be available during the merge?
A: No, both subscriptions have to be closed during the merge process.
Q: What if something went wrong with the merge?
A: The merge process will automatically rollback in the event of a merge failure, and no changes will be made.