Team Board

This feature is currently in Beta. Select the yellow Feedback button and let us know how we could improve your experience.

The Team Board is easy to set up and empowers teams to own their process.

Team Board

The Team Board page includes:

Use the Board

To navigate to your Team Board from the navigation bar, select Track, Team Board. To navigate to your Team Board from Personalized Navigation, select ... Team Board listed under Track.

You can see all of your team’s work in one place. Team members and editors can create new cards, edit cards, and move cards on the team board. Drag and drop from one column to another to move your cards. Select the Formatted ID to open a quick detail page.

Team Board with QDP

 

Note: The Team Board only displays work items from the current project .

Select Add New to add a new user story, defect , test set , or defect suite card to your board.

Select blocked or ready on your card to show the state . Selecting ready will change the card background color to green. Selecting blocked will display a field to input a reason for the block. Learn more about blocked work.


By default, the Exit Agreement fields are hidden from the Team Board. Click the ellipsis icon to show or hide exit agreements.

Show Exit Agreements

Filtering

Select Filters to open the filtering tray. You can work with quick filters or advanced filters. You cannot combine the two.

Quick Filters

Select Manage Filters to add or remove quick filters to refine the results on the page. Multi-select from the drop-down or enter search criteria to add filters. Once you have selected all applicable filter types, select Apply.



To clear selected filters, select the Reset button.

Advanced Filters

Advanced filters allow you to specify more detail than in the quick filter settings. Using advanced filters, you can:

  • Specify a date range
  • Use more operators when defining a filter (other than "=" or "contains")

When you switch to advanced filters, CA Agile Central ports your quick filter settings. You can then adjust the detail of the filter.

To clear the advanced filters, select Clear All.

Switching back to quick filters displays the message "Returning to Quick Filters may change your results. All operators will be converted to either '=' or 'contains'."

Customize Display

You can customize the fields that display on your cards. Select Show Fields to display a pop-up and select the fields to display. Select Apply to save your selection.

Swimlanes

Swimlanes are horizontal rows that can be applied to a board for a team to easily visualize work items by category or sub-process. They show different types of demand more clearly. A swimlane helps to visualize a specific attribute , such as expedite.

The Team Board has the following swimlanes available:

  • Blocked
  • Expedite
  • Iteration
  • Owner
  • Parent
  • Ready
  • Release

To add swimlanes to the Team Board:

  1. Select Swimlanes.

    Team Board, Swimlanes button

  2. Select the type of swimlane to add from the drop-down list.

For Blocked, Expedite, and Ready, two rows are added to the board - one for the attribute "Yes" state, one for the attribute "No" state.

Team Board swimlanes

For the other swimlanes, rows are added to the board based on the value of the attribute.

Team Board swimlanes (parent)

Note: Drag-and-drop between swimlanes on the Team Board is not yet available. To move a card between swimlanes:
  1. Display the desired field on the cards (the Ready and Blocked icons already display in the upper-right corner of the card).
  2. Change the value of the attribute to change swimlanes.

View Charts

Select the Charts icon to view cumulative flow, throughput, and cycle time metrics. The charts show the last twelve months of data (the last completed month plus eleven more). They show work for the selected Team, and parents or children depending on your scoping selection in the navigation. We will be updating these charts in the future to provide more detail.



Change Settings on Team Board

Team members and project administrators can edit the settings of a board from the Settings page. Select the gear icon to open the page.

Change Settings from Gear icon

The board will display the schedule states of your workspace . By default the board has four schedule states — Defined, In-Progress, Completed, and Accepted. Each flow state is mapped to a schedule state . Learn more about schedule states here.

You can move and delete columns when there are no cards in that flow state. If you try to edit a flow state with cards in that state you will get a warning message:

Click the Title field of any column to change the name of the flow state.

Set up work in progress (WIP) limits. The WIP value for each row in the table represents a work in progress limit for each column on the board. This value is the maximum number of cards that the team agrees should be in a column at any given time. When this limit is exceeded, the column will turn red. Leave the field blank for unlimited WIP. An infinity sign will display.

To document what criteria needs to be met before a card can move into the next column, use the Exit Agreement field. Learn more about exit agreements here.

You can choose when to display the age of a card per column, and when to archive (hide) cards that are in the far right column. To show cards indefinitely or to view cards that have been archived (hidden), remove any value entered into the Age field and an infinity sign will display. Archived cards continue to display in Search and other pages in CA Agile Central. These settings will only hide the cards on the Team Board.

Age of cards field

The age displays at the bottom of each card.

Days display on bottom of each card

Select Save at the bottom of the page to save your changes

Save and Manage Views

You can set up and save your modifications to the Team Board page so you can view them later.

Save Your View

  1. Set up your Team Board page.
  2. Select Manage Saved Views.
  3. Select + Add New.
  4. Enter a name for the view, then select Create.

    Create a View

Manage Saved Views

Access all your saved views from the drop-down. You can also manage your views from the drop-down.

Saved views

You can make changes to the view and update the view or save it as a new view.

Update With Current View

You can rename the view by selecting the checkbox next to the view, then entering a new name.

The Sharing value determines whether the view is User only (Not Shared), project shared (Shared with project), or workspace shared (Shared with workspace).

Note: Sharing a view with your project or workspace requires that you have project or workspace administrator privileges.

Sharing views

Feedback

Need more help? The CA Agile Central Community is your one-stop shop for self-service and support. To submit feedback or cases to CA Agile Central Support, find answers, and collaborate with others, please join us in the CA Agile Central Community.