Watches allow you to follow the status of an individual work item. You should use watches when you have a critical portfolio item , user story, defect , or task , and need immediate notification when its details are changed. When a work item is being watched, an email notification is generated for each edit made by other users (but not for your own edits).
You can only view watches that are associated to the workspace you are currently scoped to. Change your workspace scope as needed.
Watches work differently than standard email notifications. There are no rules to configure or set up. Watch notifications are sent by email, and are not currently included in the My Notifications app on a dashboard or custom page .
To use the watches feature , you must have email functionality enabled in both your subscription and profile settings. If you do not have email notifications enabled, you will receive a failure message when you try to watch an item:
Contact your subscription administrator to enable email notifications in your subscription. To enable email notifications in your profile, edit your profile.
Enabling email functionality will also allow emails to be sent from any active notification rules that you have set up. This includes the Notify me about changes to my <work item> (and items directly related to them) notification trigger for each work item type. If you receive unwanted emails that are not related to your watches, check your notification rules and triggers.
The Watch button is found on the detail pages of user stories, defects, tasks, and portfolio items. You may also access the Watch command from pages and apps that support the gear menu.
Bulk create or remove watches
You may create a watch on multiple items at once from summary pages and apps that support the gear menu. Select the items you want to watch with the check box to the left of each work item row, and select the Watch command from the Bulk Actions gear menu.
Use the same method to unwatch multiple items at once.
If any items in your selection are already being watched or unwatched, the success notification on the page will notify you of the results.
The Watches page found in CA Agile Central's profile mode lets you see all active watches created for your username. Each row has a gear menu, with an Unwatch command.
Add users to watches
You can add team members and other users that may be interested in a work item to an existing watch from your Watches page or a work item's detail page.
From the Watches page
When you add a user to a watch, they will receive an initial email notification. The watch will also be visible from that user's Watches page.
From a detail page
If you would like to discontinue notifications for a work item, you can remove the watch. To remove a watch, access the Unwatch command from the Watches summary page and most gear menus. You may also select the Unwatch button when viewing a work item's detail page.
You may also select the link found inside a notification email:
Email notifications will be generated for any changes to a work item (including a deletion), but some field values may not be displayed in the message.
Changes to rank in a drag-and-drop workspace will not show previous or current rank values, since CA Agile Central uses an algorithm behind-the-scenes to calculate a rank value. These edits will display as rank changed in notification emails.
Some work items contain fields that show aggregate or rolled up values of associated work items. Changes to a related work item may affect these fields, which would cause a notification to be issued for the watched parent item. Fields include:
|User story and defect fields||Portfolio item fields|
* applies to lowest portfolio item type only